Search icon Looking for something?

Setting the Pace, Leading the Pack
1997, July (June 03, 2008)
by Doug Ryan, manager of the Education and Training Committee and Michelle Corbin Nichols.

At the Annual International STC Conference, the winners of the International Technical Publications competitions are recognized, Associate Fellows and Fellows are honored, and the efforts of the chapters across the nation are honored. We hope to recognize those Carolina Chapter members who were recognized this year in this article. However, if we failed to mention your award, please let us know so that we can mention it in next month’s Carolina Communiqué.

This year in Toronto, the Carolina Chapter received a Pacesetter Award, an honor presented to only one chapter per region. At the awards banquet, Bill Albing, Michelle Corbin Nichols, Lottie Applewhite, and Candace Soderston stood to accept the award (many other Carolina Chapter members were in Toronto, but did not attend the awards banquet that evening). The award cited the innovative work of the Education and Training Committee. Many thanks go to the members of the Education and Training Committee (see the EduSpeak article on page 5 ).

Also during the awards banquet, one of our own Carolina Chapter members was named as a Fellow this year: Candace Soderston. She was named Fellow for "inculcating human factors into the technical communication of a major producer of technical documentation and for significant contributions to the Society." Candace joins Lottie Applewhite, Austin Ferrell, Philip Rubens, and Richard Russell in representing the Carolina Chapter as STC Fellows. The Carolina Chapter also has several Associate Fellows in our midst, including Morris Dean, Larry Kunz, and Frank Zeigler.

The Frank R. Smith Outstanding Journal Article Award is given every year during the Opening Session. While no one from the Carolina Chapter won the Outstanding Article of 1996, three Carolina Chapter members received "Distinguished Communication" awards in the competition. Candace Soderston (along with Thomas Crandell and Naomi Kleid) won the award for "Empirical Evaluation of Concept Mapping: A Job Performance Aid for Writers," which was published in second quarter 1996. Robert R. Berry and Michelle Corbin Nichols won for their third quarter 1996 article, "Design Principles for Multi- Window Online Information Systems: Conclusions from Research, Applications and Experience."

In the International Technical Publications Competition, in the Software Combination User and Reference Guides category, Ann-Marie Grissino (along with Kathy Tardif and Sue Lanzillo) won an Excellence Award. In the International Online Communication Competition, the Documentation Team for the SAS Solutions@Work Preview Edition won an Achievement Award. Finally, in the STC Newsletter Competition, in the category of Chapters with more than 300 members, the Carolina Communiqué, with Michelle Corbin Nichols, John R. Stuart, and Kim Spangler being recognized, won an Achievement Award.

You can reach Doug at dsryan at mindspring dot com; you can reach Michelle at tigger at vnet dot net. End of article.

More articles like this...
Comments powered by Disqus.